Bipolar When It Counts











{November 25, 2012}   Question of the day #5

So all you bipolar friends. In keeping with the theme of my last post, here is the question of the day today.

What is the one piece of advice you wish someone had given you, or the one tool you wish you had had when you were in school?

I look forward to reading your answers!

Here’s the number one thing I wish I had when I was in school. I was diagnosed very shortly after starting back to college after I had my son. I neglected to inform any of my advisers, just because I wasn’t comfortable with the stigma. The one thing I wished I had leaned on harder was my academic advisers. It was my own fault, but because I didn’t want to come forward about my illness and the struggle I was encountering, I ended up not finishing.



I was diagnosed in 2005. Until then I had been going to school full time. I took some time away to pull myself together, then did another year. I was so not ready for it. So I’ve been off since. I’ve tried on two other occasions to go back but never made it beyond a couple of weeks.

This time, I had been talking to the disabilities advisor. She is going to help me get things set up. I’m really nervous though. I just worry that I will never be ready again. But I guess I won’t know unless I go back right?

Thanks for responding!



I’m glad to hear that you are utilizing the resources at your disposal. It’s a very brave thing to go out there and inform people of your illness, just because there is so much stigma involved.

Good luck! I wish you all of the best!



What have you got to say?

et cetera
